Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect with Dutch

Ruppersberger Nominated to Serve on the Appropriations Committee

Nov 20, 2009
Press Release

(Washington, D.C.)- Congressman C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-D) has been nominated to serve on the prestigious Appropriations Committee by members of the Democratic Steering and Policy Committee.  The Appropriations Committee is responsible for funding federal budgets including agriculture, defense, energy and water, foreign operations, homeland security, the environment, labor, health and human services, military, science, and transportation.  Congressman Ruppersberger is assuming the seat vacated by Congressman Steny Hoyer (D-MD) after his election as the Majority Leader. 

“It is an honor to be nominated to serve on the Appropriations Committee by a committee of my peers.  I take this responsibility very seriously.  I will follow in Congressman Steny Hoyer’s footsteps and work diligently to improve the lives of Maryland families and America’s citizens,” said Congressman C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD).  

The Maryland 2nd District includes BWI-Thurgood Marshall Airport, the National Security Agency, Fort Meade, Aberdeen Proving Ground (APG), the Port of Baltimore and the Coast Guard Yard at Curtis Bay.  It also includes neighborhoods in Baltimore County, Anne Arundel County, Harford County, and Baltimore City.  60,000 new jobs are expected to move to APG and Fort Meade as part of the Base Realignment and Closure (BRAC) process.     

“We have a lot going on in Maryland.  Two of the states largest economic engines, BWI-Thurgood Marshall Airport and the Port of Baltimore, are in the Maryland 2nd District.  In addition, 60,000 good paying jobs are heading to the area through BRAC.  I intend to work hard on the Appropriations Committee to help improve economic opportunities, infrastructure needs, environmental issues, educational opportunities, transportation and military advancements, and intelligence capabilities in Maryland and across our nation,” said Congressman C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD).     

The full Democratic Caucus will vote on all committee nominations.