Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect with Dutch

Rep. Ruppersberger Breaks Ground for New Sparrows Point High School Grandstand

Nov 20, 2009
Press Release

Baltimore, MD - Today, Rep. Ruppersberger joined East Baltimore County elected officials, business community and school leaders to break ground on a new chapter for Sparrows Point High School athletics during a ceremony.

Although there are currently no grandstands from which fans can watch their teams play, Sparrows Point High School has a long and historic athletic tradition with more than half of the student population playing on one of the school's many sports teams. Over the last few years the boys and girls soccer teams have won a combined three championships.

As County Executive, Rep. Ruppersberger was instrumental in helping Sparrows Point obtain funding for the project but it was the surrounding business community and the school's alumni association who got the lion's share of credit from the congressman.

"Today we begin a great new chapter in the proud history of Sparrows Point High School. A new chapter built on a foundation of competition, sportsmanship and more important, teamwork."

"Beyond Sparrows Point athletics, these grandstands will come to symbolize community teamwork. They will represent neighbors coming together, working side-by-side as a team, towards a common goal."

The idea for grandstands was that of Sparrows Point's athletic director who, working with a local councilman John Olszewski, brought the need for field grandstands to the attention of then County Executive Ruppersberger. The executive then found a way to commit funds even during tight budget times.

From there, the community and school pitched the idea to the local business community who cam up with the funds for the rest of the project. Because of their forward thinking and great teamwork, Sparrows Point High School will be the first high school in Southeast Maryland to construct Grandstands.

Also in attendance were Senator Norman Stone, Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith, 7th District Councilman John Olszewski, Delegate Mike Weir, Delegate John Arnick, and Delegate Joseph Minnick.

For more information, contact Heather Moeder Molino at (202) 225-3061